Millwall Lionesses v Chelseal Ladies

This week I have attended 2 games that I originally did not know about. One of those was a friendly yesterday on a school pitch that was insufficiently  lighted. Which meant I could not spy properly lmao.

Chelsea is the 4th FA WSL side that I have seen in 2013 and they surely impressed me with their passing range and variations. They really looked a different side from the one we saw in 2011 and 2012. It is less direct and sharper,shorter passing with good movement and a lot of pace up front.

I am not sure about the whole Chelsea team because of the lighting was so poor, I could not recognise every player. So in goal Carly was not there, so I guess Jess Myers was there,not 100% sure.Back four was Blundell, Holtham Ingle Bleazard, midfield 3 Spence, Buet and Gardarsdottir., up front Jakobsson Ward and Muya. Came as subs Davies, Longhurst who managed to get a booking, Ayane, Hincks, there was another player in midfield that I did not recognise.  The new foreign players were impressive as well as the 3 youngsters from the reserves/U17 side who did not seem out of place at all. I left the game at 2-1 for Chelsea with about 15 to go as I needed to get back to London but I am sure that Chelsea will be competing for the champions league places with Arsenal, Liverpool and Birmingham if they carry on developing an attacking ball possession orientated game.

About Sylvain

women's football fan since 1998
This entry was posted in FA WSL. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

